1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Rear View Camera

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by raneyboo, Mar 18, 2014.

1. raneyboo

raneyboo Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello everyone,

I am new to the Prius forum and was very intrigued by all the formative, helpful, and educational posts about this car. I currently own a 2014 Prius Two and wanted to buy/install it ASAP. What would it cost to purchase the device and get someone to install it?

2. our1vue

our1vue Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Raneyboo,
    There is a lot of ways to put in a backup camera that will determine the cost. And I'm sure the price will be different based on what shop does the work. Ebay has the Rostra kits for around $250. They use an LCD display in the rearview
    mirror to display the picture. It is possible to get the image to display on the radio display, but I don't know how much a kit would be to do that. It should be cheaper since you wouldn't need the LCD display mirror. Your best bet would be to find a reliable car accessory shop in your area and ask them.

3. 06d

06d Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    PM'd you

4. chang50012

chang50012 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Raneyboo,

Same here. I am trying to find the way to put backup camera on the Prius Two. Dealer quoted $599 and I am pretty sure it could be done and others already done it before. But I am not that handy around the car and would prefer it was done professionally.

If you done it, let me know the detail and I will do the same. Thanks

5. James4455

James4455 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    1. Do I understand correctly that you can't hook an in-dash backup camera to a 2013 Prius Two without a new head unit?