1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Recent Enginer install

Discussion in 'Prius PHEV Plug-In Modifications' started by ajfischer123, Nov 15, 2011.

1. ajfischer123

ajfischer123 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello,

I recently install a 4 kwh Enginer kit in my 2005 Prius and wanted to let everyone know of my experience. I bought a used 2005 Prius for the purpose of converting it to a plug-in hyprid. (BTW, I have been driving a 2009 Honda Civic Hybrid for two years and my wife has a 2010 Honda Insight which I drive periodically. Yes, I have been a Honda person for many years, but the prius has better all electric operation and is clearly more suitably to PHEV operation.) I only had 1 month of Prius baseline operation before installing the Enginer kit, but I could get 60 - 63 mpg for a tank during warm weather. These are scan guage numbers backed up by tank-based refill numbers. Unfortunately, the MFD seems to give numbers 3 - 4 mpg higher than reality, admittedly without a lot of statstics. (Interestingly the Honda onboard computers always yield numbers 1 -2 mpg low, I'm not sure why this is, but that's what I've seen.) For the prius baseline, individual days could be as high as 70 mpg for my particular commute, for the whole tank, my numbers were a bit lower. I installed an engine block heater and I run 42 - 44 psi in the tires and attempt to hypermile, etc. (I don't really use pulse and glide as I don't seem to practically understand this.) In any case, with the Enginer 4 kwh kit installed for almost a month, I can now get 80 to 85 mpg for my compute (46 miles round trip, as much as 70-80 miles some days). I am very happy with the kit. I have been able to drive 20 miles in all EV mode (under 34 mph) with 4.9 kwh added back to the pack giving ~250 wh/mile for my test so far. (BTW, I also have an all battery EV 1976 MG midget with lead acid batteries where I get 330 to