1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replaced 3 bad cells. Electric Engine turns off after one mile.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Nandersizzle, Apr 15, 2014.

1. Nandersizzle

Nandersizzle New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey guys,

I'm new to auto work in general and just bought a 2004 prius off CL. I was aware that the red triangle was one when I bought it and decided to fix it myself.

I popped the HV battery out and saw that one cell was completely bad and that the two neighboring cells had registered physical damage. I bought 3 new cells off ebay and put them in. All cells register 7.8 volts exactly now, but when I put the battery in and drive the electric engine will shut off shortly after getting on the road ~1mile in. Also, on the energy flow screen the batter will not charge passed the final two bars to get into the green zone.

Is this a fuse problem? Has anyone experienced anything like this?

Thanks,

Nick

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    What warning lights are on?

3. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    How many miles did you test drive the car? How do you know the electric motor shuts off?

4. Nandersizzle

Nandersizzle New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The big red triangle and the check engine lights are on. I test drove it for about 25 miles 2 nights ago.

I can tell it shuts off because on the energy flow screen it stops showing flow to or from the electric battery after a mile, as well as all noise shuts off from the battery area, and my ability to accelerate with any effectiveness also stops. So, to me that means its on gas engine only.

Thanks guys.

5. Patrick Wong

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two