1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Roof Rack heart attack!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by pookieman123, Nov 26, 2013.

1. pookieman123

pookieman123 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    All

Really hoping someone out there has some answers for me. We have a 2010 Prius and it's great... except when the wife says let's pick up a Christmas Tree every winter and talk of taking the kids for a bike ride next summer. We realise a roof rack is the way forward. So being a complete novice at this stuff I started searching and discovered the following 2 brands seem to the leaders, Yakima and Thule... however once you add up the various components which they sell piece meal? <shaking head> the total cost is 600+

I mean really? I get they require design and manufacturing but I just can't see how the prices are justified.. But people seem to love them and seem OK with paying that much for them. As I'm not sure how much we'll actually use them I can't justify that type of outlay.. So I am looking for options... Initially we just need a basic rack for transporting items we can't get in the trunk. Then in the future maybe get an adaptor to get 4 bikes on top. Are there some alternative options? These are not going to be used industrially, probably < 20 times a year, just for locally transportation.. really appreciate any experiences people have had with generic brands.

We are located in Vancouver, Canada and I've looked on craigslist etc, but really people are selling for basically what they cost new minus the sales tax.. people must be made of money!

Thanks!

2. Skunkworks

Skunkworks Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Thule and Yakima are both good racks, you get what you pay for....

3. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three