ScanGuage II installed in my Prius C!

Discussion in 'Prius c Accessories and Modifications' started by managerman, Apr 4, 2012.

  1. managerman

    managerman Prius v Nerd

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    232
    108
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    After reading tons of threads about the advantages to having a Scan Gauge...I purchased one yesterday and installed it today...Setup some X-Gauges based on this link...
    https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...ZTUR1eVE&hl=en

    Install worked out good from a visibility standpoint and the cable is hidden very well on it's way down to the OBD II connector...not happy about the side mount of the connector, but in order to use the back jack, I would have had to mount it to the steering column and it was not as easily visible...

    Here are some pictures of the installation.

    -M

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




     
  2. kkim

    kkim Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    383
    125
    kauai, hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    III
    Looks great!

    lol... like that's all we need... more info to distract us when driving, eh? ;)
     
  3. nerfer

    nerfer A young senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    2,454
    183
    Chicagoland, IL USA, Earth
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    You're using 3 of the same gauges I do. (I've got trip mpg instead of SOC).
     
  4. EVOX

    EVOX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    24
    9
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Would the ScanGuage II be usefull on high performance cars? I heard it tracks 0 - 60 times and quarter mile times.
     
  5. fgp

    fgp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    407
    77
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    im using mine for rpm, water temp and voltage. what is soc?:confused:
     
    Prismart likes this.
  6. managerman

    managerman Prius v Nerd

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    232
    108
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    It has a whole performance section in the manual....0-60, quarter mile, horsepower...so maybe yes..

    -M

    State of Charge of the traction battery.

    -M
     
    Prismart and MandiRocker like this.
  7. fgp

    fgp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    407
    77
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    oh oh im going to ask a very naive question. is that like the big bad ass battery. instead of the 12volt. where did you find it if that is correct. i think i would really like that. my scan guage II is several years old going back to either my 2004 or 2007 prius. thanks for your patient explanation:D
     
  8. managerman

    managerman Prius v Nerd

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    232
    108
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    No problem....Yes...the main EV drive battery....I think you might have to have the firmware upgraded to the latest version for some of the X-gauges to work properly...latest firmware is 4.06..

    There is a link in my first post to the X-Gauge info...including SOC

    -M
     
  9. fgp

    fgp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    407
    77
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    wow. that looks very confusing!!!!.:confused: can i upgrade my software by somehow connecting my guage to my computer or am asking a too dumbass question. im sure there have been many upgrades since i last used mine. thanks again.:)
     
  10. nerfer

    nerfer A young senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    2,454
    183
    Chicagoland, IL USA, Earth
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Do a search. Or go to the scangauge website and look at their link on upgrades: Upgrade : Linear Logic - Home of the ScanGauge

    They say version 4.02 is the latest, but there are PriusChat posts talking about 4.05+ and 4.06. You might want to e-mail them directly, and/or spend the time searching here for information that's already been given.
     
  11. KK6PD

    KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    3,864
    777
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    There are no "Stupid" questions, just ones a person was too stupid too ask. So continue to ask away!
    I believe you have to send your Gauge in to have the upgrade performed. Here is a thread on upgrading...
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-prius-main-forum/38313-scanguage-ii-upgrade.html

    Personally I would rather the end user have the ability to plug into a USB port and flash the unit yourself!
    X-Gauges are gauges specific to the Hybrid system. There is a program called Torque you can use on a Android phone or tablet to display Gauges, here are a couple of links for you!

    This is a link for Gen II
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-...ndroid-app-formulas.html?highlight=gauge+list

    This is the Gen III list...
    http://priuschat.com/forums/obdii-a...pids-torque-app.html?highlight=GenIII+Android

    Another good thread is here...
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-prius-modifications/51100-my-scangauge-user-manual.html

    Hopefully with all this to read, you can come up with some useful ideas. As a side note, you can run more than one Gauge at a time. The two RJ-45 connectors on the unit are loop thru. Just daisy chain away! They will connect with a standard Cat-5 cable!
     
  12. fgp

    fgp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    407
    77
    nashville
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    wow. thanks to all. i have to admit that i mostly use the tempeature and rpm guage the most. its kind of a kick to hear it wind out to a whopping 4000rpm or so.
     
  13. KK6PD

    KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    3,864
    777
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Just remember 4000 rpm eats Gas.
    But have fun now, you will figure out Hyper Mileing after you spend some time here!
    Watch the correlation between RPM, MPG, SOC, Stealth, Warp Stealth.
    Read Grasshopper, learn, ask questions!
    You too can Master the HSD!
     
  14. Nic Lechner

    Nic Lechner Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    65
    12
    Sacramento Ca
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    What would be the best scangauge for a C?
     
  15. managerman

    managerman Prius v Nerd

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    232
    108
    Columbus, OH
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Scangauge II. Allows the use of X-gauges

    -M
     
  16. deckbuild

    deckbuild Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    37
    12
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi Would like to check does the firmware in the SC II matters for use in Prius C?
     
  17. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    876
    311
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Hi deckbuild,

    Yes, it does. Ver. 3.xx can't handle multi-frame msg., only Ver. 4.xx onwards can. See my other thread.

    Vincent
     
  18. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible Chance favors the prepared mind.

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    929
    469
    Neb
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    I used to have the SGII I'm using on the C on my Z28. It can be useful to have real numbers instead of needles, and it does the mpg figuring (which isn't an option on my ancient 1998 vehicle.) Plus, yes, it does monitor a number of performance parameters. I did a 0-60 in the C one morning. Saw a whopping 11.5 seconds warmed up and on level ground.

    I put my SG on the C on the steering wheel pod with the connector coming out the back. There's a thread about that with plenty of pictures.

    I monitor water temp, RPMs, instant mpgs, and trip mpgs. I have others, but those are the ones that usually stay up most of the time.
     
  19. Alexandru Popa

    Alexandru Popa New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Hi

    Does anybody here know who i can get SOC and BTA running in the same time? i managed to get SOC working but BTA is blank

    Thanks

    Alex
     
  20. X HCH2

    X HCH2 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    104
    31
    Upstate SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I've got both on mine right now. I have a nearly new SG, maybe yours is not the latest software version. Do you know what you have?
    X
     
    Mr Incredible likes this.