1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thin Film Solar Panel (Rollable Solar Powered Battery Chargers)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by JeffElectric, Mar 9, 2007.

1. JeffElectric

JeffElectric New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    When visiting my local Toyota dealer in Santa Monica I noticed a wrecked Prius in the back lot. I decided to take a closer look and noticed that the battery pack was visible because the rear seat was removed. I thought to myself, I could tap into the battery pack by connecting a "Thin Film Solar Panel" (see attachment - Iowa Thin Film Technologies Website) and potentially gain an increase in overall MPG up to to 100+. I am not an Electrical Engineer, but thought this could be possible. Can those of you that are engineers provide feedback?

Attached Files:

2. ScottY

ScottY New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    According to their spec, the highest output film gives you 15.4V at 1.2Amps, P=I*V=18.48W. That's under ideal condition I assume.

For comparison, the Prius sitting at idle, fully warmed up, engine not running, AC not running, headlights not running. Hybrid battery pack voltage ~250V (depending on SOC, state of charge), and consumes ~1Amp. Again, P = I*V ~250W.

Not to mention you have to step up that 15.4V to higher than 250V in order to charge the hybrid battery. Whenever you do any type of conversion, there's always conversion loss involved (electronic components are never 100% efficient).

The film will provide less than 7% of the power consumed by the Prius while sitting idle at ideal condition. Not worth the money/time IMHO.

3. usbseawolf2000

usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Scott,