1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Told I need to replace transmission

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Prius Sam, Oct 18, 2014.

1. Prius Sam

Prius Sam New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey everyone its my first time posting. :)

I have a 06 prius that decided to conk out on me the other day. I pulled over to the side of the road restarted it and it worked fine but all the warning lights were on. Next morning it wouldn't start. Had it towed to the dealer they said it needed a $5,000 transmission. I said no thank you, and took it to a local mechanic who quoted me $2,800

Basicaly he said the inverter inside the transmission is fried. (supposedly from when the recalled water pumps would make it overheat). He said he has a transmission already that he could put in for $2,800. He also said he couldn't find just the inverter. (I did a quick search and found on in 5 minutes from a scrap yard for $300)

My main question is can I put an inverter or a transmission (if i decide just to replace the whole thing) from a 2005 prius into my 2006? I'm pretty sure I can but wanted to ask someone who knows anything about cars. It would be awesome to fix it for $1,000 instead of $5,000.

Any other advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    how many miles on your car?

yes you can use an inverter and transaxle from 2005

3. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    As you probably already figured out, there is a difference between the inverter and the transaxle. So your first task is to figure out exactly what has failed. Mini VCI is an excellent diagnostic tool (Toyota Techstream clone) which will help you do that.