1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Total Newb: New 2012 Prius III 3rd Gen - Ev/Eco/Pwr/"other" mode?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by FlavoredAir, Aug 5, 2012.

1. FlavoredAir

FlavoredAir Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi there,

I'm going to be brutally honest here. I didn't like the Prius for years. Made a lot of fun of it. Up until a week ago I drove a 2009 Chevy Malibu 3.6L V6 with an aftermarket turbocharger installed. I loved the power. I got a Prius because I'm about to start a new job that's moved my office from being 22 miles away to just a hair over 50 miles away, and while I'm going to be compensated well for it, the idea of getting 2-3 tanks of gas per week was/is repulsive.

After poking fun at my friends who owned a Prius, here I am an owner. A week in, I'm enjoying it. Missing the raw power of the last car, but the Prius is enjoyable none-the-less. I'm a convert, I guess is what I'm saying.

So, my question: My Prius friends are all giving me a lot of different information about the three (four?) driving modes (EV/Eco/Power/none), and after doing a few searches on the forums, I'm still a bit confused.

I get the EV and Power modes. They make sense. All battery vs. every bit of power the car has. What I'm confused about is the use of Eco mode, and the use of no selected modes. Could someone succinctly explain those to me?

Thank you very much,

Scott

2. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Normal (nothing selected), eco and power mainly just adjust accelerator pedal mapping. Eco also makes some changes to the behavior of the HVAC system.

Although this isn't of any use now, in the winter, using Eco can help prevent the ICE (internal combustion engine) from coming on to provide cabin heat. See Why mileage gets worse in winter | PriusChat.

FlavoredAir likes this.
  3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers