1. Offline

    h-dogg Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Bay
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hi,

    The TPMS on my Prius v 3 keeps blinking after I installed new aftermarket wheels. I followed the steps for resetting the TPMS button below the steering wheel from the priuschat forum. After a long drive it will blink again.

    Any thoughts on fixing the blinking light besides elec. tape?

    I sure miss my simple car that didn't have all these fancy sensors.
  2. Offline

    Dark_matter_doesn't Prius Tinkerer

    Member Since:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    641
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Did you get TPMS sensors on your new wheels?

    If so, you'll have to go back to the wheel vendor or a Toyota dealership to get the new sensors "registered" with your vehicle's TPMS.

    If not, you'll have to just live with the flashing light.
  3. Offline
    • Moderator

    Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator

    Member Since:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    7,474
    Likes Received:
    2,404
    Location:
    N.Y.
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    If I am not mistaken, after 2007(?) all new vehicles are req'd to have a TPMS. Your simple car must have been an older model.

    Have to checked to make sure your pressure is set high enough? Check in your manual and make sure that the resetting procedure is the same as the one you read here n Priuschat as well.
  4. Offline

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Member Since:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    18,041
    Likes Received:
    2,948
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    You need to have your car programmed to use the new TPMS sensors. This is something you will have to do every time you switch the wheels.

    Alternately, use Schrader EZ-sensor TPMS sensors on your replacement wheels. These are programmable, and can be set to echo the same ID as your existing sensors:

    http://www.schraderinternational.com/Products/Sensors/NA-Schrader-EZ-sensor

    Tom
  5. Offline

    h-dogg Junior Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Bay
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks for the replies!!

    I got it..the aftermarket wheels don't have the TPMS installed on them. I don't feel like taking out the OEM ones out after installing the wheels.

    Any tips on buying aftermarket ones? I'll look into the Schrader link you posted qbee42.

    The OEM ones are pretty expensive and you still have to go back to get them programmed.

    I guess I'll live with the TPMS light on for now.

    My simple car is a 2000 echo..

    Thanks!
  6. Offline

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I assume it's the same sensors that they've used in the Gen 3 Prius, and you can typically find them on eBay too. It's actually a pretty common sensor, there's a thread somewhere on here with the part # by Pacific that you can search by if it's the same one.

    If you use the Schrader one, you need to get the existing TPMS IDs to know what to program them to also.
  7. Offline

    Mike James Camaros and Prii go figure

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You can also bypass the TPMS. There is a link in my winter tire advice thread or search for TPMS bypass in the gen III mod forum.

    I bypassed on my V. It is super easy to do.

Share This Page