Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

TPMS Flashing with New Wheels Installed

Discussion in 'Prius v Accessories and Modifications' started by h-dogg, Feb 13, 2012.

Social Buttons

  1. h-dogg

    h-dogg Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Bay
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hi,

    The TPMS on my Prius v 3 keeps blinking after I installed new aftermarket wheels. I followed the steps for resetting the TPMS button below the steering wheel from the priuschat forum. After a long drive it will blink again.

    Any thoughts on fixing the blinking light besides elec. tape?

    I sure miss my simple car that didn't have all these fancy sensors.
  2. Dark_matter_doesn't

    Dark_matter_doesn't Prius Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Did you get TPMS sensors on your new wheels?

    If so, you'll have to go back to the wheel vendor or a Toyota dealership to get the new sensors "registered" with your vehicle's TPMS.

    If not, you'll have to just live with the flashing light.
  3. Paradox

    Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Location:
    N.Y.
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five



    If I am not mistaken, after 2007(?) all new vehicles are req'd to have a TPMS. Your simple car must have been an older model.

    Have to checked to make sure your pressure is set high enough? Check in your manual and make sure that the resetting procedure is the same as the one you read here n Priuschat as well.
  4. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,953
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    You need to have your car programmed to use the new TPMS sensors. This is something you will have to do every time you switch the wheels.

    Alternately, use Schrader EZ-sensor TPMS sensors on your replacement wheels. These are programmable, and can be set to echo the same ID as your existing sensors:

    http://www.schraderinternational.com/Products/Sensors/NA-Schrader-EZ-sensor

    Tom
  5. h-dogg

    h-dogg Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Bay
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks for the replies!!

    I got it..the aftermarket wheels don't have the TPMS installed on them. I don't feel like taking out the OEM ones out after installing the wheels.

    Any tips on buying aftermarket ones? I'll look into the Schrader link you posted qbee42.

    The OEM ones are pretty expensive and you still have to go back to get them programmed.

    I guess I'll live with the TPMS light on for now.

    My simple car is a 2000 echo..

    Thanks!
  6. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I assume it's the same sensors that they've used in the Gen 3 Prius, and you can typically find them on eBay too. It's actually a pretty common sensor, there's a thread somewhere on here with the part # by Pacific that you can search by if it's the same one.

    If you use the Schrader one, you need to get the existing TPMS IDs to know what to program them to also.
  7. Mike James

    Mike James Camaros and Prii go figure

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You can also bypass the TPMS. There is a link in my winter tire advice thread or search for TPMS bypass in the gen III mod forum.

    I bypassed on my V. It is super easy to do.
Similar Threads: TPMS Flashing
Forum Title Date
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles Help TPMS keeps flashing randomly Feb 21, 2014
Gen II Prius Audio and Electronics Sirius Install and then TPMS flashing light? Sep 25, 2012
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles TPMS reset button or sensor is damaged. Oct 2, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum Where to program and how much $$? TPMS Sep 24, 2014
Prius c Accessories and Modifications TPMS Part Number Question Sep 19, 2014