Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

TPMS reset?

Discussion in 'Gen II Prius Technical Discussion' started by scott.in.colorado, Feb 8, 2013.

Social Buttons

  1. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have a bad sensor in a tire that just had a flat. I have ordered the sensor for the wheel and I am wondering after I install the sensor in the tire will the 'reader' pick it up and reset itself or do I need to go through the programming of the new sensor? At this time the TPMS warning light comes on and flashes for a minute or so before staying on constantly. This tells me it's trying to read the tire sensors but there is a fault, which is the tire sensor where I just had the flat. Costco tells me that sensor reads 78psi, which is incorrect. The fact that the reader is trying to read all the sensors and getting an error makes me think that it might reset itself when the new sensor transmitter is put in the tire?

    Any chance of this resetting itself or will I need to reprogram the receiver unit?

    Thanks Scott
  2. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,486
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    No chance of it resetting itself unless you can get someone to program the sensor with the same serial number as the old one.

    The ECU reads the sensors based on the serial numbers programmed. In order to read the new one the ECU (car) has to be reprogrammed for the new sensor or the new sensor has to be programmed with the same info as the old sensor. If the ECU needs to be reprogrammed most likely it will require taking it to the dealer. There are some locksmith shops that may have the ability to do it.

    Good luck.
  3. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks, I'm looking into Pepboys and other areas to get it programmed - not sure if Costco can do this, they seen to have the tool.. but I have not ask.
  4. PriusGuy32

    PriusGuy32 Prius Driver Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    Harrison Township, Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Five


    Discount Tire, Belle Tire, Firestone, etc... and small mom and pop shops nowadays all have the necessary handheld's to program the new sensor ID's into the ECU. DONT go to the dealer unless you cant find any other place locally to do it; the dealer easily costs 3-4x more. And if you are that rich, I have some swampland for sale :D
  5. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks, I will checkout the places you mention. I think (hope) you are right.


    Scott
  6. IAP Direct

    IAP Direct New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V


    Another option, if you are interested in swapping wheels between summer and winter sets, is the ATEQ QuickSet tool. It will allow you to program the new sensor IDs at home.
    Hope that helps.
  7. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks, I looked up the ATEQ and it's $150. I don't see myself using it all that much (I hope!).. Costco has changed our tires out every year (summer / winter) and there has never been a problem with the sensors. I'll keep it in the back of my head that I can purchase one of these, but will hope I can get this done locally for next to nothing - takes about 5 min to do.
  8. bobodaclown

    bobodaclown Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Look for Mini-vci, about $30. Can program the TPMS with it plus more.
  9. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just found this..

    The unlocked version of ts allowed me to change on my 2011 Tundra --

    Turn off my seat belt chimes for both passenger & driver.
    Modify the volumes of several other chimes ie key in ignition
    Modify the interior lights
    Turn on factory alarm though I did not buy the Glass Breaking Sensor.
    Change my two button unlock feature to one button all doors unlock
    Change my auto door lock from 5 mph to when shifted into D

    Gives me the ability to input my TPMS sensor codes for winter and summer wheel swaps.

    I'd like to find an on-line manual for this and read on it a little.

    *** OK, so what I know is that I have to read the valve stems at the wheels via a RF link, then plug into the port under the steering wheel.. to load the values / serial numbers, or such.. and if true, I don't see how this device reads the wheel valve stems and then loads the values into the car computer.

    *** Just read on the Tacoma site, many issues with most posts and products like this. It could just be that the users don't know how to use the tool, but I think most could figure it out. I'll keep looking for more info - an online manual would be nice.

    Thanks
    scott
  10. 3prongpaul

    3prongpaul 6 Gen1s, 3 Gen2s

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Boulder Hybids, Boulder, CO
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi Scott, AFAIK you need Techstream or a special scanner to enter the TPMS ID's into the Prius. If you happen to be near Boulder we can enter the ID's for you. Boulder Hybrid Conversions (just make sure you write the new ID down or take a photo of the ID before installing it in the wheel). Some mom&pop tire shops now have TPMS scanners, phone around your area.
  11. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So OK, I'm somehwat hoperful now. I am sitting in my office on Pearl Street and 10th in Boulder, so yes I am near Boulder, I am here most days. I will take the photo and write down the ID if I see it on the valve stem.. see there is a great world out there.. How should I contact you when I get the part (this week I think). As I don't know of your capbilites, if you can install the valve stem, that saves me a trip to costco, but if not, no issues. You can reach me at "filter 4991 at comcast dot net".. no spaces and I can provide my phone number or whatever you need.

    Paul - I have your address / phone number from the link you provided and see you are close to my location. I will plan to call you when I get the part.. Thanks - this is a huge help.

    Scott
  12. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    New TPMS installed by Costco. Cal tomorrow by Paul in Boulder. Can't wait. The old valve read 78psi, the new on reads 33psi. All signs looking good.


    Scott
  13. scott.in.colorado

    scott.in.colorado Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just left Paul's shop in Boulder.. TPMS reset and life is good again. Paul spent time talking with me, showing me his EV install's and his shop - a great place to work as I like to tinker around with stuff, and Paul clearly does. Paul's prices are very fair (cost me Zero dollars to reprogram the TPMS) and we spoke of other services, Transaxle oil change, brake fluid, ... then he took my car out for a test drive as I mentioned the steering is pulling a bit to the left.. he did not think anything was wrong but gave me a 3rd party name in Boulder to get it checked out if I wanted. I will, when time allows.

    Anyway, if you have to get a flat, and it causes the TPMS to fault on that tire, a little research and you’ll save yourself a bunch of money. The dealer wanted $150 for the TPMS Valve, I got it for $50 on the web, Costco installed for Free, Paul re-entered the ID's for each wheel, and I'm good to go. Cool.. like when things turn out like this!

    Scott

    PriusGuy32 likes this.
Similar Threads: TPMS reset
Forum Title Date
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles TPMS reset button or sensor is damaged. Oct 2, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles What do you mean, ''We can't reset your TPMS'' Aug 31, 2014
Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting TPMS reset Mar 31, 2014
Toyota Prius Plug-in Where's the TPMS Reset Button On 2013 PIP? Nov 1, 2013
Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting reset TPMS light?? Jul 23, 2012