Welcome to PriusChat

We'd love to have you join our community and participate in the conversation! Sign up for FREE today.

Sign Up

TPMS - Schrader EZ-sensors

Discussion in 'Gen II Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by 1F7, Feb 7, 2012.

Social Buttons

  1. 1F7

    1F7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I found a tire shop that could order and install Schrader EZ-sensors on my second set of wheels. EZ-sensors are tire pressure monitoring sensors (TPMS) that have programmable id's, so the tire shop programmed my second set of wheels to have the same four sensor id's as the Toyota sensors on my first set of wheels. This lets me keep a working tire pressure warning light when I swap winter and summer wheels without reprogramming the car's computer -- the car sees the same id's and is none the wiser that the tires are different.

    EZ-sensor cost was half the msrp of the the Toyota sensors, plus mount and balance. I've used them for 1500 miles, so have no data on reliability or longevity. And the standard caveats -- I have no financial interest in Schrader. I just wanted to report my experience, as these have been discussed on priuschat.

    I can now remove the small piece of black electrical tape covering my tire pressure warning light. :)

    Bill
    3 people like this.
  2. ursle

    ursle Gas miser

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    NH
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Schrader stole the name, it's the type of valve ie: presta
    but I like your gleem.
  3. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,046
    Likes Received:
    2,952
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2006 Prius
    What a great idea: clone the sensor ID rather than reprogram the car. I like it.

    We should make this information a sticky note somewhere.

    Tom
  4. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    1F7 - what was the shop you used that could order them? What was the final price for a set of 4 that you paid?

    I've seen the website for these sensors, but never could find much price or other information on them. It is indeed a much better solution than having to reprogram the ECU each time you swap. I would probably go this route if I still use the summer/winter tire setup after one or more of the TPMS batteries die or they break, etc.
  5. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  6. ockevin

    ockevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Orange County
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    more info and a link please...

    Will it work on the GEN III ???
  7. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  8. bedrock8x

    bedrock8x Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    California
    Your Vehicle Year:
    Other Hybrid
    You have to buy a programming tool to reprogram, looks like for hundreds of dollars.



  9. cnschult

    cnschult Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Michigan
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    half the price of oem sensors?? imagine the price tirerack could get them for if they bought hundreds or thousands of sets, I guarantee you these would be popular with most new car owners buying wheel & tire sets, not just Prius owners. Tirerack only has half a dozen distribution centers across the country, it would be no problem for them to put a programming tool in each center.

    But I guess for that to work we would have to find out what the sensor IDs are for each of our 4 stock wheels so that tirerack could pre-program the new set as a clone. I assume it would be a handheld scanner similar to what a vet uses to read an ID chip on a pet or horse. I wonder if dealerships have a tool to see what our sensor IDs are.

    I've read that valve stem sensors are much more reliable than the sensors that strap to the wheel, so as long as they were valve stem sensors I would have little qualms about reliability being an issue.
  10. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III


    I think the tool comes with their "starter kit". Just for fun, I sent them an email and asked about pricing, etc. If I could re-coup costs, I'd think about doing some sort of PC user agreement as a "middle man". I'll have to see what they come back with, though.
  11. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III


    There are hand held scanners that can read the TPMS IDs without breaking down the tire. I just don't think many shops buy them.

    Dealerships will go into TechStream and pull the information from the ECU to get your existing sensor IDs. It takes them about 5 minutes to do, but most likely they'll charge you. Or, you can find a user on PC that has TS and a cable that may be willing to help you pull the information.
  12. 1F7

    1F7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Your Vehicle Year:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Two


    Town Fair Tire in Tewksbury MA. They hadn't matched a set before, but the manger Kevin knew what I wanted with minimal explanation. I probably asked half a dozen other shops and many of them just didn't understand the request, even after I explained it to them. TireRack didn't have them.

    The tire shop had a portable handheld device (Bartec?) that read the ids of my Toyota sensors without breaking them down or even removing them from the car, then the same device programmed the EZ-sensors one by one. This is a one-time operation. No TechStream required.

    Price was $268.30 -- $50 each plus $14 programming/mount/balance plus tax.

    The EZ-sensor application guide includes 2010 Prius. I would think it would work with gen3, but I don't have one to confirm.

    Bill
    1 person likes this.
Similar Threads: TPMS Schrader
Forum Title Date
Gen III 2010+ Prius Main Forum Schrader TPMS Reader/Programmer Mar 11, 2013
Fred's House of Pancakes FOBO TIRE: World's First All Bluetooth Smart TPMS Saturday at 7:30 AM
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles What do you mean, ''We can't reset your TPMS'' Aug 31, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles So I want to get some winter tires for my prius trim five, and TPMS... Aug 31, 2014
Gen III 2010+ Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubles How to get TPMS to relearn with new sensors Aug 9, 2014