1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

TPMS, Trickle Charging, and Scan-gauge?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Eco-Boi, Mar 22, 2013.

1. Eco-Boi

Eco-Boi Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey guys, so I am still new to my Prius and was wondering a few things.

First, the owner's manual says there is a TPMS, but I can't seem to find it in the digital display? I check my tire pressure manually once per week to make sure I have the proper PSI, but I was wondering if there is a way to access it in-vehicle?

Second, I was wondering if I bought a solar panel with a car adapter, would it trickle charge my battery while I drive it, or is that not possible? I was told the sockets are not active when the car is off, so I figured maybe while I drive I could trickle charge it?

Last, I have heard about a thing called Scangauge, does it work well, and where could I get one? If anyone has used one I would love to hear how it works and what it does. I just want to know more about my car, because my last car (2012 Honda Fit) had the needles indicating heat and an icon for tire pressures. So I miss knowing if the car's fluids are ready and what the tires are at without manually checking them.

Thanks in advance! :)

Silver Pine Mica likes this.
  2. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    No, tpms only lights a light if pressure gets low in a tire(s). You still have to check them yourself to see which tire(s) is/are low.

No, that would be good if you want to maintain a charge in the 12v battery if it will remained parked for a long time, say 3+ weeks but not for charging something like the traction battery.

Many here have a scan gauge, I never bothered with one as I prefer to just get in and drive so others can tell you more about that.

Eco-Boi likes this.
  3. tumbleweed