1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Triangle of Doom, fan running constantly, HV battery issue?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by cloud4310, May 24, 2014.

1. cloud4310

cloud4310 New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi everyone,

Newbie here so please bear with me. I have a 2006 with 91,000 miles brought secondhand in 2009 that has worked wonderfully until now...

Couple of days ago the triangle of doom came on along with the hybrid system warning light, brake warning light, VSC, and malfunction indicator light. I was about a half block from home so I coasted home, parked and called for a tow to my local shop. The shop pulled several codes off of the car - one I know was P3000 and one was for low gas. Now, I know my gas was on the last bar but I never got the flashing pip or the "add fuel" sign. And yes, after doing some reading on this forum, I know now that the low gas issue is really bad and I should have never let it get down to that last bar, flashing or not. The shop added gas, said my 12v battery was dead, car needed new front brakes and a new belt. Got those all replaced. They were unable to get the red triangle light to go out and said that I may need to take it to the dealer for that. They also said that the main battery had been drained down low and they were not sure if it would recover but that they had been able to test drive it and the car seemed ok.