1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Trying to decide between Touring and Base

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by 2ndAmdt, Oct 13, 2014.

1. 2ndAmdt

2ndAmdt New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey, newbie here, looking to pick up a Prius in order to cut my gas cost (My minivan is getting about 20 mpg). My basic criteria when I started looking included something under 100,000 miles, back-up camera, navigation and heated seats. My budget is about $10,000. I have found two that I like but with stark differences:

Option #1: 2007 Touring with Package 6; so if I have read everything correctly, this car has every option possible including the heated seats which apparently are rare in the Prius (I do have back problems, so heated seats would be really nice). Mileage is under 99,000. Clean carfax: one owner, no (reported) accidents, maintenance done every 5,000 at the dealership that now is selling the car used. Slightly over my price range but it has the main items I was looking for: back-up camera, navigation and heated seats.

Option #2: 2007 Base with apparently no option packages - no camera, no navigation, it looks like just the basic model. But, it has less than 60,000 miles on it which is very attractive to me. It is advertised as one owner, but Toyota's service records shows spotty service - so if anything was done to it for regular maintenance it was not done at a dealership. This car is at a used car lot, not a Toyota dealer lot. Priced right at $10,000.

Both cars are priced about $1500-2000 under KBB (which is just a guide I use to identify a good price).

I'm putting about 600 miles a week on the car driving to/from work and hauling the kids around to sports. Summer driving would be somewhat less, still looking at 25,000 +/- a year. I'm a single mom and I work at night, so something that is very reliable when I leave work is very important.