1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What should I consider to be a break-in period for higher MPG?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by webbkr, Aug 30, 2014.

1. webbkr

webbkr Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi Everyone,
    I just took delivery of a 2014 Prius II yesterday (200 or so miles thus far). So far, I'm happy with everything about the vehicle. I'm just wondering if there is some sort of break-in period when the MPG settles in for more optimal numbers. I'm not that unhappy with the MPG so far, as I'm still learning how to master the best driving technique - 43 MPG so far - only one bar down on the fuel gauge. So, just wondering if there's a nominal amount of mileage before MPG improves.
    Thanks,
    Ken

2. jdcollins5

jdcollins5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    About 5000 miles seems to be the consensus for break-in.

3. Okinawa

Okinawa Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    If you go on You Tube and type in HOW TO DRIVE A PRIUS, the video will teach you the Pulse and Glide technique.

4. Munpot42

Munpot42 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    I think the break in applies more to the driver than the car, meaning as you learn how to drive a hybrid for max fuel mileage, fuel mileage will improve.

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  5. wjtracy

wjtracy Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    ...usually new tires get better with time.
    It may take a couple tanks of gas for the system to equilibrate.
    You should notice (after say 10 minutes warm-up) you should start hitting 50 MPG if not consistently, at least off-and-on depending on the driving situation. If not maybe check to see if the 12v is fully charged (per many threads here).
    Winter is bad news for MPG, but not in FL.
    Welcome!

#5 wjtracy, Aug 30, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  6. bwilson4web