1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Why does it get worse MPG in cold weather?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by iraeise, Jan 27, 2006.

1. iraeise

iraeise New Member

Hey guys...
    I got my Prius during warm weather and got fabulous mileage.
    Now that it's cold, I'm lucky to hit the magic number (50mpg) using the most "gentle" driving possible.
    I've tried stuffing the air vents in the front to keep cold air off the motor, putting in injector cleaner, mileage enhancement additives, and whatever I can think of and it still gets 5-10 mpg less in the cold.
    Does anyone know WHY that is?
    Has anyone experimented with ???? and made it get better mpg in cold weather?

Outside of this, my biggest beef with the car is the beeping drives me nuts when the car is in reverse.
    I'm a home inspector and have to drive to all kinds of places (usually far away), so having a Prius really extends my "economically" useful range, AND my ladder fits in it.

Now all I need is to get that great MPG year round!

Has anybody got any good ideas? Ethanol maybe?

Ira in New Jersey

2. kdmorse

kdmorse Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Poke around the forums here a bit, you'll find countless discussions on MPG drops in winter. The short answer is twofold, it takes more energy to bring the hybrid components up to optimal running temperature when it's very cold out, and winter gas is actually different and less efficient that summer gas. Many folks have had good luck with an engine block heater, but there's not much you can do about winter gas.

But most importantly - you can turn off the reverse beep so it stops driving you batty. Instructions can be found in your manual, or in countless threads here.

-Ken

3. ken1784

ken1784 SuperMID designer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  4. hdrygas

hdrygas New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius