1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

'04 Audio Interface

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by molain, Oct 1, 2007.

1. molain

molain Junior Member

A bit of short background. All I've wanted from the day I bought my Prius is a good way to tie in my iPod. FM transmitters suck. Anyway, a year ago, I bought a DICE. Within a month of installing it, my MFD broke. I was barely out of warranty but still managed to get it replaced for free. I ran with the new MFD a couple of weeks, then reinstalled the DICE. Within days, my brand new display had completely locked up on me. I removed the DICE and the display started working again. It hasn't failed me since, so I could have just had a loose connection, but now I am afraid to plug the DICE back in, lest I break my $2500 MFD.

So, being an electrical engineer, I set out to see what I could do to hack together my own audio interface that didn't waste time or risk breaking things by messing with communication. I reverse-engineered the DICE and found that it sends audio left, right, and common to the radio. I found 12V in, ground, a 100 ohm resistor from ground to audio signal common, and some other traces I didn't bother to follow. The circuit seems to run off an ordinary 7805. There is a 5V differential bus transceiver that presumably talks to the car audio system.

The bad news is, it appears as if the audio lines will be ignored unless I can trick the car into thinking there is a CD changer plugged in, and it doesn't look as if I can do that without talking to the car.