1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

04 prius --- dead !

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by sstk100, Aug 3, 2010.

1. sstk100

sstk100 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a newbie to posting here, but have been reading for several months, when I bought my first 02 Prius last fall. It was wrecked, but I rebuilt it and it's been running fine since. I put in one of the Miata replacement battery kit's, and the 02 has not had any problems at all. (just drove it on 800 mile trip)

Also bought a 2004 Prius recently (loaded Touring, 56,000 miles, smart key, etc.), and it was wrecked in the front. I put it back together, replacing bumper, hood, radiator, inverter reservoir, fender, etc....anyway it started up fine, and I drove for about a week. Started with no problems.

It seemed like the gas mileage was lower than it should be for the 50-100 miles or so I drove it, after first getting it running, after the accident repairs. (also making me wonder if the 12V battery was weak)

Then all of sudden the doors wouldn't lock with door handle push button, or keyfob. I drove it again a couple of days, and it ran OK.
    Then when parking it last week, I shut it off...but needed to restart it to back it up a few feet, then....nothing...no dash lights or ready light, and car won't turn over or start...it's dead !

So, I figured the 12V battery was bad, and since I was going to keep the 04, I replaced the 12V, with the Optima replacement battery.
    ...but it made no difference...car is still dead...no dash lights.. except for red security light, and the slashed white key light, that seems to show no smart key?....I don't hear water pump running either.