1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

04 Prius display screen dying

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by apacheba, May 30, 2009.

1. apacheba

apacheba New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Toyota dealer quoted $5100 to replace seriously blinking multi-display on 2004 Prius ... dash ok, a/c & radio controls function but guessing status w/o display ... excuse if improper post, newbie here & this is for my sister, who cannot under any circumstance afford a 5G repair on her car, which up to now has been perfect for five years ... ANY suggestions will be valued, thank you.

2. Sandy

Sandy Hippi Chick

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    You can get a refurb at toyota for 400.00 you need to call around :)
    or check ebay...

1 person likes this.
  3. Sandy

Sandy Hippi Chick

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
  4. firepa63

firepa63 Former Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The dealer can get a refurbished unit from Toyota. There were reports of bad connections with the MFD on the 04/05 Prius. It could be that is your problem. Since there is a TSB out on this, call Toyota at (800) 331-4331 and see if they will pick up some of the cost (good will gesture). I know that from a recent post on POL, Toyota covered the cost of the MFD. See the posts from Susan5s at PriusOnline.com • View topic - Screen malfunction??

1 person likes this.
  5. dogfriend

dogfriend Human - Animal Hybrid

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    If you are really good with a soldering iron, you might be able to repair the one you have:

Prius MFD

1 person likes this.
  6. richard schumacher

richard schumacher shortbus driver

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A