1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

'05 Prius wont start!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by nickerin79, Nov 21, 2008.

1. nickerin79

nickerin79 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Hello,
    I have a '05 Prius with 21k miles on it, that was involved in a minor front end accident. I have 15 years experience woking on vehicles so I decided to work on it myself. I know Hybrids are more complex...The master warning light, and hybrid system light are coming on. The car wont start. It will go into ACC mode. Any ideas on how to start it? Thanks-

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    What damage is apparent to you from the accident?

Has the car been driven since the accident, or is the no-start issue due to accident damage?

How much fuel is available, per the fuel gauge?

Have you measured voltage across the 12V battery to see whether it is low? Should be 12.6V or more to be considered fully-charged.

The hybrid system icon on the MFD is not a good one to see - this implies a problem with the hybrid system such as the traction battery, inverter, or transaxle. You'll need to retrieve the DTC to get a clue about what is wrong with the car. You'll also need repair documentation, which you can obtain online at the following subscription website: techinfo.toyota.com

Good luck.

3. nickerin79

nickerin79 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Thanks so much for responding. I can see that you have a lot of knowledge regarding Prius'. Ok so here are all the details. I replaced the radiator,condenser, and fans. The car was started twice with no coolant in the inverter hyrbrid system, and then it turned off. On the third try, I got "Hybrid System Warning" and "Master Warning" light, and it wouldnt start. The battery is fine, it read 17V.