1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

'05 vs. '06

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by kissell, Jul 16, 2006.

1. kissell

kissell New Member

Newbie here.
    I am comparing a used '05 (Package 6) to a new '06 (Package 7 or 8). Does anyome know if the '05 has the IPOD plug in? Also, is the voice recognition feature on the '05?

And are there any other features on the '06 taht werent avaialable for the '05?
    Thanks in advance.

2. Lil Mo

Lil Mo New Member

Regarding the iPod (or aux input), you should check the car and the stereo. On the '06, the aux input is in the center console.

I think the aux input was introduced in the '06; however, someone mentioned that their '05, had it. Hopefully, someone on PC will comment on that.

The voice commands are available on some of the '05 packages. It is a pretty cool feature.

Good luck, :)

3. Betelgeuse

Betelgeuse Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi kissell,

The '05 does not have an iPod input; I'm pretty sure that the person that Lil Mo was thinking about saying they have an input in their '05 was wrong and they actually had an '06. Anyway, that was a feature introduced in the '06 model year.

Voice commands work on both '05 and '06 cars, but ONLY those packages with the NAV built in.

I should also say that the Prius holds its value pretty well, so you usually don't end up saving that much by buying a used '05 vs a new '06. ALSO, there is a significant tax break ($3150 if you buy by the end of September and assuming you're not subject to the AMT on your taxes) for buying a new car, so that's another reason to seriously consider the new car.

Ah yes. As far as added features, the '06 adds a back-up camera and the ability of the stereo to play MP3 CDs, among other things.

4. brandon

brandon Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    A few changes between the '05 and the '06 (not a complete list):