1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

06 MP3/WMA into 05 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by deltonag8r, Jun 20, 2009.

1. deltonag8r

deltonag8r New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Newbie Here,

I just purchased an 05 Prius with JBL w/o Navi. Wish to know if an oem 06 MP3/WMA CD player will work in the 05. Found one on Ebay for $75. Pretty sure that it will physically go in. Unsure about wiring, etc? Thanks for any help you can give.

2. josh2008

josh2008 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I came here to post the exact same question, will pay attention to this. :typing:

3. Oneaxepony

Oneaxepony Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    A radio from an 06 should work in 06 thru 09 models assuming its replacing the same radio. I dont think a non-JBL 06 can replace a JBL radio in 06 thru 09 - you have to replace it with a JBL. So there are really two issues here. Will an 06 radio work in an 05? And will a non-JBL radio (assuming that's what the 06 is) work in place of a JBL unit? I have never heard of an 06 radio working in an 05 and I dont think a non-JBL radio will work in a JBL Prius. But I cannot say this definitively - it is just educated speculation on my part.

4. deltonag8r

deltonag8r New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks.

The 08 replacement on Ebay is also a JBL. I spoke to 2 techs at the Toyota Dealership and they said that they think it will work but wouldn't give me a definite yes. They said to go ahead and get the replacement because it is such a good deal that if it doesn't work I would be able to sell it with little or no loss. I hope this helps.

5. Oneaxepony

Oneaxepony Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Please let us know how it works out. Good luck!

6. esoterikest

esoterikest New Member