1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

100 MPG vs 10 MPG

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by flynz4, Dec 28, 2005.

1. flynz4

flynz4 Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Being a newbie here... I wouldn't be surprised if this was posted before. I believe that it was discussed on NPR's car-talk, but I did not hear it first hand. Here goes:

Scenario: You have two cars... one gets 10 mpg, and the other gets 100 mpg. Both are currently... and will continue to be driven equally

What would be a better deal?

a- increase the 100 mpg car to 200 mpg -or-
    B- increase the 10 mpg car to 11 mpg?

The math is pretty simple... but the answer may not be intuitive.

/Jim

2. jimgraffam

jimgraffam New Member

Not enough information to formulate a decision.

1) How far is my commute?
    2) How much did I have to invest in each car?
    3) How long will I own each car?
    4) How cool is each car? (this one can and often does trump all others)

3. hawkjm73

hawkjm73 New Member

Well, the first car starts with costing 0.01 gallons per mile and goes to 0.005, with a savings of 0.005 gallons per mile driven. Car 2 starts at 0.1 gallons per mile and goes to 0.09 gallons, saving 0.01 gallons per mile driven.

However, switching cars at the beginning saves 0.09 gallons per mile. Much better. B)

4. 2Hybrids

2Hybrids New Member

The better deal would be to dump that vehicle that gets 10 mpg....

5. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    GM and I think Ford have used this argument to explain why it's better to bump their 10MPG vehicles to 11MPG than it is to do all the work to bump a 35MPG vehicle to 40MPG.