1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

100K mile club maintenance Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by pbratt, Jan 17, 2011.

1. pbratt

pbratt Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I'm a new resident of the Dallas Fort Worth area, and moved with my trusty 2004 Silver Prius. The Prius has 108K miles on it, and has been doing just fine on the road and with millage.

When I moved to Dallas, I went to one particular Toyota dealer, which will remain unnamed. I got some of the worst service I've ever received, and I've taken my car to 5 different dealers over the course of its life. The said the serptine belt was original and needed to be replaced (actually replaced at 75K when water pump cracked), quoted me for a fuel injection cleaning price of $151, and offered to change my engine and air cabin filters for $75 (I do this myself for $30). I wasn't very impressed to say the least.

I've been pretty type A about keeping track of the maintenance records for the Prius over the past seven years, and this has proved to be helpful when dealing with money hungry dealers. I become a very frequent reader of this forum, and having just crossed the 100K mile mark earlier in 2010, I have a couple of questions I'd like to throw out to the group for some feedback.

1. Wheel alignment. I've never had a wheel alignment, in part because I've never felt that the car handled poorly or veered of course when I take my hands off the steering wheel. I get my tires rotated and balanced at Costco, and I always ask if there is a sign of uneven treading (there never is). Should I get an alignment anyway?

2. Fuel Injector cleaner. I've used the Chevron stuff from Costco, and I've been very pleased with my millage over the past few years, with an average of 45.6 mpg. Do I need to have the dealer do anything in the future?