1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

12 Volt Auxiliary Battery + Cold Weather

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jsndyr, Jan 18, 2011.

1. jsndyr

jsndyr New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Newbie here... I've looked through the forum for an answer to this question, but I'm not finding anything specific to what I am looking for.

I have a 2007 Prius that recently required a replacement of the 12V battery. I frequently travel and the Prius sits for 4-6 days at a time at the airport. My Prius was dead when I returned from my last trip (4 days, really cold weather). I had it jumpstarted and drove it home (50 miles). The next morning it was nearly dead again (turned on some of the electronics, but not all). The battery was obviously dead. So I replaced it with a Toyota battery and all seems well again. I do have questions though.

I have been periodically checking the battery to see if I am getting any sort of drain as I am paranoid about being stranded at the airport again. I have a six day trip coming up and I don't want to come back to a dead car... again.

Here is what I have tracked for the past four days:
    Saturday -- 12.56V (garage temp = 25)
    Sunday -- 12.55V (garage temp - 20)
    Monday -- 12.56V (garage temp - 36)
    Tuesday -- 12.53V (garage temp - 27)

I have the smart key system (SKS) turned off at this time.

I read somewhere on the forum that temperature affects the voltage of the battery (fully charged at 0F is not 12.6). Do these voltages look right considering the age of the battery and the temperature in the garage? Should I be looking at anything else?

Thanks for listening!

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    How are you checking the battery? Those voltages are a little low for an unloaded fully charged battery, but not bad for a cold Prius battery supplying quiescent loads.