1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

12v (DC to DC charger) suggestions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by Westcoastbestcoast1, Mar 9, 2022.

1. Westcoastbestcoast1

Westcoastbestcoast1 New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Good morning,

I am completely new to any type of forum, so hopefully I am asking these questions in an understandable way.

I have seen many Prius conversions into a camper. I also intend to convert my 04 Prius into a similar setup.

Is it possible to run a DC to DC charger like a Redarc (BCDC1225D) to another external lithium battery without issues? I want to run everything off of the 12v system if possible. This external battery is intended to run accessories and a sine wave inverter.

Thank you in advance

2. Another

Another Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    There are many threads on PC on the subject of inverters and also excellent videos on YouTube
    Here is one.

If you’re going to the trouble, stick to a 1000w pure sign wave inverter like a Xantrex Prowatt 1000
    Also do not skimp on the wire gauge and install breaker

3. sam spade 2

sam spade 2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Regardless of what else you do, you likely will NEED a generator.......unless your power needs are REALLY small and your overnight stays are few.

Can you arrange it so that the Prius supplies all of your power needs ?
    Yes maybe. But it likely will be a giant pain in the backside and may cost a bunch too.

YMMV

#3 sam spade 2, Mar 10, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2022
  4. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Have you worked out your desired power budget yet?

Starting with that, then it's just a matter of looking at options for how to meet it.

5. Westcoastbestcoast1

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II