1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

12v power handling capability

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by wbredin, Apr 1, 2008.

1. wbredin

wbredin Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Guys,

I have read quite a few different things regarding how much power we can safely extract from the rear 12v battery without damaging the Synergy drive system. I would like to run a 300 or 400w RMS amp to power a subwoofer. I have read posts from people who say you can do this all day, and other who say this is a bad idea.

Anyone have a definitive answer to this? anyone know what the deal is? Can the DC to DC converter from the high voltage pack handle the extra load? Thanks

2. Presto

Presto Has his homepage set to PC

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    400w is easily handled by the system. I've been running 600w for more than 2 years. I've run the system at full power for 3+ hours, plenty of times. There's a few people here running 1000w, as well. Got a need for power? The Prius says, "Bring it."

3. Michael Wurzinger

Michael Wurzinger New Member

The 12V battery is very small, so it can be helpful to parallel supercaps to supply the amplifyer with peak power. (bad english, i hope its understandable)

Mike

4. wbredin

wbredin Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ok cool, thank you guys for the input.

Super caps would be nice...perhaps i'll just use a more standard type of audio cap...I used a 1.2F unit before with a 12" alipne Type R and it worked very well.

5. Presto

Presto Has his homepage set to PC

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius