1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

139.2 miles on 1 gallon with no recharge

Discussion in 'Prime Fuel Economy & EV Range' started by Prime8, Jul 14, 2020.

1. Prime8

Prime8 Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    I tested my 2020 Prime's limits today to see how far I could go on a full charge and 1 gallon of gas. I almost made it to 140. 139.5 miles travelled, 139.2 reported mpg.
    I will confess that I might have used gravity to my advantage.
    20200714_094850.jpg

Mark57 likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    fir enough. i have been using gravity to my disadvantage for 65 years, mostly weighted to the second half of that time span.

3. Prime8

Prime8 Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    I too lose more to gravity than I gain, or vice-versa.

4. Salamander_King

Salamander_King Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Congrats. I am sure the gravity that helped you on the way can also hurt you on the way back, unless you are never coming back to where you started. It is a zero sum game.

Just curious, how did you measure the 1 gal of gas use for that distance traveled? A full charge is easy to manage, but amount of gas used is not easily measured.

5. Prime8

Prime8 Member

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    It is visible in the photo. Distance travelled and mpg are the same number, hence. 1 gallon has been reported as having been used.

I had a 4200 foot overall drop, and drafted semis. I will use between 2 and 3 gallons when I go the other way tomorrow.

6. Salamander_King

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Oh, I see. I never thought of that. How clever!

Now another question. Did you first used up the EV range or did you switch back and force between HV and EV until EV range depleted?

7. Prime8

Prime8 Member