1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

1500W AC inverter in 23MY Prime

Discussion in 'Gen 5 Prius Technical Discussion' started by MDNHW11, Nov 19, 2023.

  1. MDNHW11

    MDNHW11 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    54
    25
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Has anyone done any testing with the AC inverter on the new Prius Prime?

    I wasn't sure whether or not to expect sinusoidal AC or a stepped waveform, but it looks to be sinusoidal!

    If anyone has done any testing on it, I'd be curious to hear details.

    Sine.jpg
     
    douglasjre likes this.
  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,250
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Looks sinusoidal enough for government work. (And like a ✕10 probe is being used.) What more are you wanting to know?
     
    MDNHW11 likes this.
  3. MDNHW11

    MDNHW11 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    54
    25
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I guess I am looking for any gotchas - has anyone run near max load for any period of time, any devices that haven't played well with it etc.

    Also - I'm not any kind of expert on an oscilloscope, so...
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,250
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Do you have a label or something in the car's owners' manual that says what the max load is?
     
  5. MDNHW11

    MDNHW11 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    54
    25
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Max load is 1500W.
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,250
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I suspect if that's the rating they give it, it's good for that much.
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,250
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Do AI chatbots now sign up for their own forum accounts?
     
    douglasjre likes this.
  8. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    21,895
    11,410
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Looked like it at another forum I visit.
     
  9. MDNHW11

    MDNHW11 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    54
    25
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Wow, incredible contribution. Thanks!
     
  10. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,250
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Well, at the end of the day, 120 VAC inverters by now are pretty much commodity items. They do what they're supposed to do, and perform to their ratings.

    With an output as sinusoidal as your 'scope shows, there aren't likely to be any devices that would have any problem with it. If you keep under the rating advertised for it, it is likely to just do its job.

    Maybe the only question that leaves unanswered is your "near max load for any period of time" question. And I don't have an answer for that. But, did you see anything in the manual that said "intermittent" or suggested a time limit?
     
  11. KMO

    KMO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    1,463
    369
    0
    Location:
    Finland
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't see anything in the (EU) manual even hinting at a time limit - just lots of talk about ensuring the total stays below 1500 W and that it might not work if you try to exceed it. I get the strong impression it's 1500 W continuous.

    I liked some of the actual warnings:

    In situations such as the following, do not use an electric device while driving [...]

    * When a device is likely to cause burns, such as a toaster, microwave, electric heater, electric kettle, coffee maker, etc.

    * When a device is likely to fall under the pedals and prevent the brake pedal from being depressed, such as a hair dryer, AC adapter, mouse, etc.​
     
  12. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    21,895
    11,410
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Those have probably happened at some time for there to be warnings.
     
  13. Will B

    Will B Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2023
    365
    328
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE Premium
    Slightly off-topic, but my favorite car warning was for my Gen1 Prius, roughly paraphrasing:
    - The electric windows have a safety feature to stop the window closing if there is an obstruction such as a neck.
    - DO NOT TEST THIS FEATURE WITH YOUR NECK.

    Yea, kinda scared that text was put in there because someone did....

    will
     
  14. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    44,856
    16,100
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Gotta report it earlier.
     
  15. Alessandro_Ibi

    Alessandro_Ibi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2023
    28
    28
    0
    Location:
    Pescara, It
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----UK----
    So, I used and hairdryer with a two power switch. I was worming glue on some add-ons to stitch in the car. I used the first position for a while, then changed to the highest one for a little bit and the inverter cut off power for some time. Didn't work even at low power (I went inside the house to try the dryer with a normal outlet- here in Europe 220 volt - and it worked). Returned in the car and the dryer was also working, but I kept it at the lower power for finishing the job. No power rating on the dryer, but it isn't a big one! So the inverter has a switch limiting power, auto resetting after some time. Regards
    Alessandro
     
  16. purplePriii

    purplePriii Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2023
    138
    52
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Didn't the manual state it is pure sine for the inverter?
     
  17. Will B

    Will B Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2023
    365
    328
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE Premium
    @purplePriii: (BTW, do you really have a purple Prii, that would be cool!)

    I thought I saw someone having a post in that, but can't find it. I have a scope, but a bit nervous playing around with high current AC. Lemme mull it over and if I decide to go for it, will post it here.

    will
     
  18. Will B

    Will B Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2023
    365
    328
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE Premium
    @purplePriii: OK, it didn't take long, that was an experiment I wanted to try. Never ask an engineer a question about data he'd like to get anyway! :)

    STANDARD WARNING: This type of setup is one that can easily go very wrong quickly! There are lots of horror stories about folk plugging scope probes into AC outlets without correct isolation in place and creating a lot of smoke. The scope was plugged into a house outlet and with the Prius fully isolated, I felt it was an OK setup, but still scared and powered up and touched things very carefully!

    The setup: The GFCI was kinda there for added safety, but really for the triple outlet. I wanted a nice resistive load and my kettle was perfect. My load was about 950W measured. The scope was plugged into household power and I had the probes ground to the cars 120V neutral and probe tip to the cars 120V hot. Nothing touching car ground.

    With no load it looks pretty good, just a bit of discontinuity at the zero crossing
    At 950W it looks even better!

    AAGH! I can't post pictures!! I get a short box in the upper right corner then nothing. This happened with the new website update I think. I tried "upload a file" too and get an error. Hopefully I can figure it out and post soon. The sine waves look really nice!

    Looking at the forum update thread, this seems to be an issue being actively worked, so I'll post the pics as soon as I can. Main thing is that while not perfect, the sinewaves look really nice at both no-load and my 950W test load. In fact, the 950W waveform looks a bit better than the no-load waveform!

    will
     
    #18 Will B, Dec 9, 2023
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2023
    mountaineer likes this.
  19. purplePriii

    purplePriii Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2023
    138
    52
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    I wish! I thought the Gen 4 would look great in purple, the Gen 5 I'm not so sure.

    I tried checking the manual and can't seem to find the part when it's pure sine but I did think I saw it somewhere. Thanks for the checking, it confirms it at least!
     
  20. Will B

    Will B Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2023
    365
    328
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE Premium
    OK, still no ability to post pictures in the forum, but supposedly I can post links to pictures on another server. I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing, but want to try. These are JPEGS on a Google drive:

    Setup:

    Zero load waveform:

    950W load waveform:


    I will leave them up for a while, but at some point in months ahead they'll get cleaned up. Hopefully by then I can post pictures again. If there is a better short-term workaround, happy to be educated!

    will