1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

15A dedicated circuit

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by fberger, Nov 7, 2011.

1. fberger

fberger Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I am not an electrician and am trying to determine if I will be able to recharge my plugin Prius in my garage without additional wiring work.

I recently connected a compressor to the outlet I had reserved for the PIP. The compressor's manual stated a requirement for a 15A circuit. Unfortuantely the compressor was not able to pull enough power to start. I ran an extension cord to a new outlet in the house that I knew for sure was connected to a 20A circuit breaker. The compressor worked fine from there.

So my question is this: will the Prius still charge off of that weak outlet in the garage, just take longer than the 3 hours published, or will it completely fail like the compressor did until I connect it to a true dedicated 15A circuit?

2. ClaySacramento

ClaySacramento Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    If your 15A circuit breaker was tripping when you attempted to power on the compressor which called for a 15A circuit, then its possible the same thing will happen when you connect your Plug-in Prius. If the circuit breaker was not tripping, yet the compressor would not start, then I'd suggest testing that outlet with some other devices to make sure its functioning correctly.

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    When you say that the compressor could not pull enough power to start, do you mean that the compressor tripped the circuit protection, or that voltage drop caused the compressor to stall?

If the latter, you have a serious wiring problem. There is absolutely no way that a normal extension cord will have less voltage drop than 14 or 12 gauge house wiring.