1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2 month old 04, hit and run driver in So. Cal.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by newpriusspouse, Apr 9, 2004.

1. newpriusspouse

newpriusspouse New Member

Happened today in Los Angeles. Please see pictures in my personal album. Both doors on the right side were hit as well as the panel towards the rear wheel. I imagine the best thing would be to replace the doors - but how long would that take? This seems like too much damage to just pound or pop out.

We hadn't even taken pictures of the car yet...

2. Batavier

Batavier Member

Darn, that's tough. :(

I'm no expert, but from the damages my cars have suffered I have a bit of experience. I don't think you need new doors.

3. Danny

Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  4. jasond

jasond New Member

A place like Maaco may be able to fix that without replacing the panels. My wife (same wife who scraped up my Prius with a shovel) scraped my Ford Focus against a cement wall a few years ago (our parking space was very tight with a cement wall on one side). Large gouge/dent across both driver's-side doors, and the side mirror was wrecked too. They de-dented it to the point where you couldn't see that there was any problem, repainted both panels, and fixed the mirror too. The whole thing only ran me about $500 I think.

Get an estimate, anyway.

5. paulisme

paulisme New Member

Oh man, that sucks. I think I would cry if this happened to me. Have you tried DNA testing to find the culprit?

6. xlarimer

xlarimer New Member

I cried when I saw that. I am so sorry to see those pictures.

That really just sucks that there are drivers out there that are so bad that they hit you. Mistakes can happen. But to run away is that one step over the line where they should automatically have their licenses taken away if caught.