1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2 tech questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by EarthFriendly, Aug 26, 2007.

1. EarthFriendly

EarthFriendly New Member

We just bought a 07 Touring, and absolutely love it. Two quick questions for the more experienced masses:

1) While my forum search fu is fairly weak, I have read that the only way to have blutooth access to contacts and call logs while in motion involves cutting a wire. Is this the case at this point? I am not very tech savvy when it comes to hardware issues, and thought of cutting a wire makes me break out into hives.

2) We have driven the car about 180 miles so far, and the fuel gauge has not moved. At all. I know the mpg is very good, and I know that many cars have gas gauges that go down more quickly as you get to "E", but this seems strange. Any insights?

Thanks in advance to the wise and experienced around here!

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    1) yes, cutting the speed sensor wire is the only known solution at this point. It's not a big deal, but I understand your anxiety about it.

2) 180 is pretty far, but it'll drop in a couple more miles...and you're correct in that the guage is not linear.

3. JimN

JimN Let the games begin!

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    EarthFriendly, welcome to site and to the vagaries of the "guess gauge". The pips are not linear. Some go slowly, others go quickly. The only certainty is that when the last pip flashes you need to buy gas. Maybe you have 10 miles. Maybe you have 30 or more. It varies every tank. If you push too far and discharge the traction battery then you'll have to face the possibility of an expensive nonwarranty bill.

BTW, expect 2 pips to vanish in no time.

4. apriusfan

apriusfan New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius