1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2001 HV Battery Dead. Could bad 12v battery be to blame?

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by craphoot, May 22, 2013.

1. craphoot

craphoot Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Sorry, if I make any forum faux pas. I couldn't find a forum for Gen 1 Prius. Also, I am not very technical with cars, so sorry if I state something incorrectly....

I live in NYC, so I only drive my car once a month or so to visit family. A few years ago my 12v Battery stopped working in my car. I assume age and just moving my car from one side to the other every morning contributed to this. I got the battery replaced at my local Toyota dealership in Jan 2012.

In early March of this year my 12v battery died again. I jump started my car every morning (with a portable battery pack) until I was ready to drive it a distance a few weeks later. I got about 2 miles and then my check engine light came on as well as my Hybrid System Warning Light.

I turned around and went home. I drove the car a few miles here and there without incident with the lights on. After a few weeks of not driving (aside from moving the car across the street each morning) my 12v battery died again. Once I jump started my car, the Hybrid System Warning Light didn't come back on.

Finally, this weekend I decided to drive the car to my dealership on Long Island to see if there was a problem with the 12v battery. About 10 miles into my trip the Hybrid System Warning Light came back on. 40 miles into my trip my car stopped accelerating and I had to pull over to the side of the highway. I turned the car off and then turned it back on and was able to drive the final 5 miles to the dealership.

They told me at the toyota dealership that my HV battery is dead. I got the following error codes:

P3006- Battery Levels are unusually different
    P3011- Battery Block 1 becomes weak