1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2001 Prius inverter replacement

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by mjfreder, Apr 2, 2010.

1. mjfreder

mjfreder Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Greetings - I'm new to Prius chat but have been reading lots of posts since I joined. I have a 2001 Prius with 169K on it. I am getting the warning lights and have the error code 3125. The shop I work with says the inverter needs to be replaced. I've been reading similar posts so that sounds reasonable. I can get a used part through LKQ online, my question is that it appears that the 01 02 and 03 models are compatible - would there be any advantage to get an '03, especially if it had lower mileage. Is there any or maintenance or maintenance I should be doing at the same time this work is done?

Many thanks.

2. jk450

jk450 New Member

What did the shop identify as the root cause of the inverter failure, and how did they determine that?

3. mjfreder

mjfreder Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    They were going by the error code and said that they reviewed Toyota technical bulletins. This lead them to believe that the inverter needed replacing.

4. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus

The car is back at your place or the shop? Will you be doing the swap or just buying the part?

You might want to have them check the inverter coolant pump to see if it possibly got overheated. There have been some rare reports of coolant 'jelling' so make sure it is flowing.

I don't have my manual handy but P3125 also has a boat-load of sub-codes that point to specific interfaces being bad. We had a thread about this a couple of weeks ago:

http://priuschat.com/forums/generat...ius-my-2002-no-longer-starts.html#post1089365

GOOD LUCK!

Bob Wilson

5. jk450

jk450 New Member