1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2001 Prius major eeeek! symptoms

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by sunrise, Sep 16, 2009.

1. sunrise

sunrise total newbie

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

I'm not sure if anyone can help out from here, but I thought I'd post the symptoms. I'm very much a lay person when it comes to cars, I've been browsing the forums but some of it's a bit hard for me to follow.

Anyway, here's the situation - not looking great at the moment.

I'm in Japan and bought this 2001 Prius in good condition from a friend who moved abroad, I'm mainly in the city but was planning to spend a lot more time in the countryside where the car is located, though due to an ill family member abroad I had to leave town for awhile and basically the car hasn't been driven all that much for quite a long time, though I do believe someone was checking it (possibly starting it) during that time as it was in a mechanic's place. Around last April/May, when I finally got out to where the car is the 12v battery had gone down and needed charging. I took it for a couple of decent runs around then, and last time was May or June, and the main battery was okay - pretty much as it had been when I first was able to drive it in late December - going between 1/2 and 3/4, mainly on the 3/4 mark.