1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2002 Toyota Prius hybrid traction HV battery fail!

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by guggenheim, Nov 28, 2012.

1. guggenheim

guggenheim New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all,

Newbie here. Hope I don't make any newbie mistakes! I appreciate the fact that there's a special forum for our special cars :)

I've had my Gen I Prius for 10 years now and have had an awesome time with it. However, the special warning indicators finally appeared on my screen late last week: the triangle and exclamation point signal indicating a hybrid system failure!

I took it to a local Toyota dealer the next day to get serviced and the guy I'm working with reported a P3000 and P3009 code. He said I can get a full diagnosis for $294. It's such a weird issue that I went ahead and said yes. Sure enough, he came back saying that the HV (aka traction) battery needed to be replaced.

Ugh. I knew this day would come. The best he could offer me was 10% off of the total $2850 (for the part, it's MSRP $2300 and the service would be $550). The discount doesn't help a ton cause I'm still looking at a $2600 bill.

A few thoughts I had...

(1) What's the cheapest option you've seen for the HV battery by itself? Would you trust refurbished batteries?

(2) If you have a friend experienced with cars (but not necessarily Prii), how hard would it be to put in the battery yourself?

(3) Given the bill for the battery replacement, I'm considering just letting it go and putting my money into a new car. One reason why I wouldn't like to do that is because of the potential value it could have in 10-20 years. I think as a Gen I hybrid, it could have a "coolness" factor in 20 years. (Yeah I know we didn't buy our cars cause they looked cool but still.) Do you think a Gen I Prius would increase in value, making a HV battery replacement justified?

Thanks for your thoughts!