1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2003 Prius with just a valet key and 12v died

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by zellbz, Oct 17, 2015.

1. zellbz

zellbz New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello I'm new to the Prius and I bought a 2003 Prius a month ago and did not realize the only key that were supplied to me was the valet key. The Prius was sitting in a parking lot for about 2 weeks and now the I have come to start it the car would not start presumably a dead 12v and I cannot get in the truck to charge the 12v because the key will not open the truck. Does anyone have any solutions for me?

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Call a locksmith...

3. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    By the door on the floor are two levers. One opens the gas cover and the other should pop the trunk. I've not tried it with the trunk deliberately locked by the master key.

If that doesn't work, I'll have to check the schematics in the engine compartment fuse box or take a VOM to find where the 12 V is available. If you have a VOM, you might be able to find some residual voltage on a pin. Regardless, a jumper would let you connect a charger and put 12 V in the system. I would probably look at the higher amp relays and fuses first.

A 'shade tree' mechanic approach, I'd pop the cover of the dome light and try to jumper there (careful, one side is ground!)

If you search the forum, some of our members have described how to make a duplicate of the valet key and do some extra grinding to make it a master key. I am sorry, I don't really understand the difference. Perhaps someone might have both keys and post a photo of them side-by-side?

Bob Wilson

4. zellbz

zellbz New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A