1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Brake actuator replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Matt98svt, Oct 8, 2023.

1. Matt98svt

Matt98svt Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    I am looking at a local 2007 prius that has a bad brake actuator for my wife. I have never worked on a 2nd gen prius before but have done two booster/actuator replacements now on 3rd gen cars without much difficulty. Is the process (and time involved) about the same as the 3rd gen? The bleeding process much the same? Also are the actuators the same for all 2nd gen prius or are their different part numbers for different years? Thanks in advance

2. Too Many Prii

Too Many Prii Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Hi Matt,

I can't answer all your questions, but I replaced the actuator on my wife's 2008 2 yrs ago. I need to do the same on my 2010, and have watched a couple of YouTube videos to prepare. From what I see the Gen 2 is a bit more of a pain, mostly for having to the mostly remove the inverter. But the benefit is only replacing one part, as opposed to two on the Gen 3. I bled the brakes the old fashioned way--no TechStream--and it came out fine. I'd estimate it to be a weekend job for a first-timer, though I took longer because it was hot and buggy in August when I did it. Definitely check out the YouTube videos. Good luck! -Andy

Matt98svt likes this.
  3. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base