1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 non-JBL tweeter upgrade

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by hole_shot58, Jun 10, 2007.

1. hole_shot58

hole_shot58 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm no expert at installing this stuff, and I couldn't see as much detail as I would have liked on upgrading tweeters in my non-JBL 07. The stock component is 1.5" dia. x .25" deep, and I wanted to use the stock door pillar housing without taking the door panel off. The Polk's worked perfectly as described in the pictures below. I found them at Circuit City for $49, perfect for my budget and I've had good luck with other Polk products.
    [attachmentid=8762]
    First I had to remove the stock tweeter. The door pillar housing is held on in two places, a standard nylon door panel fastener at the bottom and a special metal clip at the top, which is very easy to loose in the process of taking the housing off.
    [attachmentid=8763]
    Start at the bottom and pull the housing away from the door. The top will now be free enough to see the metal clip, just above the shiny nut exposed when you pull the housing away from the door pillar. If you have a small flathead screwdriver, you can use it to push the window side of the clip and may get it free intack. If not, have a tweezer AND needle noze handy to fish the clip out for reuse.

Next challenge was to get the tweeter element out of the Polk housing. It is held in with high temp, non-hardening glue. Using a modeling knife, I cut around the inside edge of the plastic and slowly, gently, pried the metal tweeter element out. Be VERY careful not to put any pressure on the face of the tweeter, as it is very fragile once removed. Also, keep any metal objects away from the tweeter element, as the very strong magnet will try to paste the nearest screwdriver to the delicate speaker dome.
    [attachmentid=8764]