1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Prius Hybrid battery is started to charge incomplete and slowly

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by LifetimeLearner, Apr 4, 2024.

1. LifetimeLearner

LifetimeLearner Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Reading posts for hours - the car lost a little power the other day so I switched over to the trip info screen to look at the charging system and noticed the bars were way down. As I pulled in to the driveway after running all my errands, the battery bars finally flashed to the pretty bright florescent green clear to the top that I was hoping to see. I am noticing lately the charge is not going back up very quickly. Am I skating on thin ice? No warning lights. 115,000 miles.
    Is the only safe place to buy a battery the dealership? What is a reliable source to purchase cell replacement packs? I am not a mechanic. I am just thinking I do not want to be caught by surprise all of a sudden. The threads on this topic are all older it appears. Any new info in 2024?

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base