1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2007 Touring suspension mods

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by ROY TODD, May 5, 2007.

1. ROY TODD

ROY TODD New Member

Got my 2007 Touring 3 weeks ago, and as my other car is a Corvette, I need to get it to handle so I don't kill myself forgetting what car I'm in!
    I saw a Prius with 225/40/18 tires. This would be about .6 of an inch larger on the dia. than my stock 195/55/16 tires.
    I don't know my offset on the wheels or the rim width.
    The 225 tires looked like the the section height was thick enough to make it through modest potholes without denting the rim.
    I am a newbie on this forum and never had a car like a Prius before so I don't have a sense of what will and will not work relative to wheel and tire width on 18" wheels.
    I would like to get the most rubber on the road that I can without rubbing the body or wheel well liners.
    I will probably put something like a Nitto NTO1 tire like on my Vette.
    From your experience...what works?

Also I would like to install a stiffer set of stabilzer bars than came with the Touring option.
    Does anyone make these (front and rear)?

I will not change the springs or shocks at this time.
    This is my 1st post- hope it goes through.

Thank you in advance for your responses!

Roy Todd

2. SaeGai06

SaeGai06 Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi Roy,

Let me be the first to welcome you to Priuschat.

If you have your mind set on getting 18 inch wheels and tires for your Prius, just keep in mind that your gas milage will take a hit of about 4-7mpg. The extra weight of the wheels and tires and the power that is needed to turn them is what causes the hit. I currently have 215/45/17 and I have no problems, except for the 4mpg loss. I'm sure with the 225/40/18 you should be fine.