1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Overall Audio Quality

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by beejay, Jun 23, 2009.

1. beejay

beejay New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I'm very disappointed with the overall audio quality in my new Gen III, 2010 Prius III, JBL- 8 speaker model - and I'm speaking comparitively to my former 2009 Prius II, 6 speaker car. I'm taking it back to the dealer tomorrow but would like to know if anyone else has the same issues. BTW, I'm a Consumer Electronics Professional and lifelong audiophile. First issue - AM/FM: I listen primarily to FM-radio because I used to work at a radio station and I love the format. I'm finding that the FM tuner cannot seem to grab onto stations - many sound noisy and static-y as if they're not properly tuned, and I lose stations at short distances from the tower (I live in Oakland and had to drive into SF to hear my favorite station without static) AM has engine noise. Second issue: sound quality - it's awful, sounds like my old 9 volt transistor radio and gives me listening fatigue headaches. It sounds thin, muddy and one-dimensional; all of the sound seems to come from the center of the dash as if it were monaural. Voices and vocals are hollow and nasal, guitars, horns, keyboards are all indistinct. I turned off the DSP which improved things somewhat, but I'm still suffering from tinny, hard, one-note treble, poor mid-range clarity, and muffled distorted bass. I've tried every tone and position combination and finally settled on turning down the treble and mids and shifting the balance slightly to the right/rear just to get the sound out off my face. Are the lower front speakers woofers only? If I put my ear to them, I hear low muddled sound but can't really tell. Third: XM-Satellite fades out occasionally, but sound quality is even more brittle and painful than radio.