1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Prius, 171K, New to me, just got P0A80 C1259 C1310

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Typingmonkey, Feb 14, 2022.

1. Typingmonkey

Typingmonkey New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi there,

Newbie here. I have been searching and using this great forum since I acquired a 2010 Prius with 171k miles about a month ago. I am trying to synthesize the pages of advice on here but I'm not sure I've been successful.

Yesterday, the "Check Hybrid System" warning came up. Drove it home (a few miles). Plugged in Techstream and got codes P0A80, C1259, C1310.

That's all I had time for.

Questions:
    1. Would battery replacement be a good next step? If not, what would a better next step be? I am thinking that given the age of this car, trying to diagnose and replace individual HV cells would be frustrating and time-consuming. A local vendor (can't link, sorry) sells refurbished batteries $1400 with 3 year warranty. Worth it?
    2. Carfax reports that there is an open recall on this VIN which has to do with an inverter failsafe condition. How does that play in here? Should I worry about that before or after resolving these codes?
    3. Is it safe to drive short distances around town (less than 10 miles) in this condition?

Many thanks,
    Kevin

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Next step is to find out how long till warning lights come back... You might have two seperate issues, one with braking system and one with HV pack.