2010 prius abs,traction light on with no regeneration whatsoever.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by jbesnrod, Jun 6, 2018.

  1. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,301
    43,202
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    1 yes
    2 no
    3 all toyota’s

    Search here, there are many threads.
    It is called tech stream, available on Amazon, you need a compatible windows laptop
     
  2. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,216
    15,361
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I bought from Rock Auto and sent it back to them;).

    Easy peasy(y).
     
  3. dcsr23

    dcsr23 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    8
    5
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I had this problem, and ended up taking to Toyota after no longer being able to clear the code using the jumper method. I also had the duck squeak. Toyota covered it under a warranty recall. My car is a 2010 with 240k at the time.. so check with them to get it covered.
     
  4. jbesnrod

    jbesnrod Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    14
    0
    0
    Location:
    washington dc
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    What did you replace it with?
     
  5. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,216
    15,361
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
  6. jbesnrod

    jbesnrod Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    14
    0
    0
    Location:
    washington dc
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Did replacing it with this particular brand fix the regenerating problem?
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,571
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    We're getting to that point that often comes in a PriusChat thread where one person, who has a brake issue and hasn't read the trouble codes yet, so it's one of about two hundred possibilities, is talking to another person who also hasn't reported the codes they were having, so that person had a problem that was also one of the same two hundred or so possibilities, and asking "hey, did replacing part X solve that problem?".
     
  8. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    4,455
    4,399
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Oh, I think the cargo cult motor pool is already fully tooled up.

    [​IMG]
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  9. jbesnrod

    jbesnrod Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    14
    0
    0
    Location:
    washington dc
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Duly noted.
    I will get those get those codes and post them.
    If I could ask one more question.
    I planned on purchasing the techsteam mini Vic interface diagnostic tool. But there are so many different ones and have different versions. I’m not sure which one to buy and I don’t want to buy the wrong one and wait have to return and buy something else. .There are some for only about $18-$25. And there are some for much higher cost.
    I plan on using my Mac book with an app that mimics windows 7 since I don’t own any Microsoft type computers.
    Any brand and version suggestions or any other suggestions will be a great help.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jbesnrod

    jbesnrod Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    14
    0
    0
    Location:
    washington dc
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    update:
    I bought a carista obd2 dongle and downloaded the dr prius app as well as the carista app. ran the checks on the car.
    the results were
    5 faults detected:
    B126a

    P1578

    C0205
    C1236
    C1345
     
  11. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,184
    10,571
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    That's really only one fault, and a small chore (and a B126A, which rings no bells here, I don't know if Techstream would show something different).

    The only fault is with the left front wheel speed sensor. The C0205 and C1236 both mean that. Don't rush to assume it's the sensor that must be replaced; the codes mean the ECU questions the signal it's getting from the sensor, which could mean a variety of things. Between the two codes, there are 25 pages of troubleshooting workup steps in the manual to figure out what exactly is causing that issue.

    The small chore is the C1345. That just means the brake ECU wants to re-learn the behavior of the actuator's linear solenoid, for which basically you only need to give it permission and it will spend a minute or so doing that. More on that here.

    The P1578 is nothing new. The computers in the car share gossip. P1578 is the power management ECU saying "hey, did you hear the brake ECU was reporting some codes?"
     
    jbesnrod likes this.
  12. douglasjre

    douglasjre Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    782
    303
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    So what was the problem?
     
Loading...