1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Prius ICE power and efficiency Vs RPM charts

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by FrankTiger, Jun 12, 2013.

1. FrankTiger

FrankTiger Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Hi everyone [​IMG]

In this thread Measuring GenIII Prius energy (power) flow with OBD | PriusChat I showed the way I measure the energy flow in the 2010 Prius.

Having recorded more than 1500 trips, I can display some interesting charts about the ICE power and efficiency from my records. However it was difficult to find high power data because I am a fuel efficiency minded driver (the reason I bought a Prius) and charts have only 130 points above 3000RPM which corresponds to an average of 30kW (40hp)

The first chart is the Power Vs RPM with colors indicating coolant temperature. Points are drawn by increasing coolant temperature order; that is blue dots (cool) are behind red dots (hot) and most of them cannot be seen:

[​IMG]

My first comment is the big difference of the Prius chart using normal driving data compared with other cars. In any other vehicle with a manual or automatic transmission you may measure almost any power (from zero to more than 50% of the max power) at any RPM above idle. It only depends of how much you press the accelerator; so it will be almost impossible to see shapes in the chart other than those coming from the driving style of the driver. But in the Prius there is a defined relationship of the demanded power by the HSD and the commanded RPM to the ICE.

My second comment is about the warming stages, you may see blue dots (less than 60ºC - 140ºF) around 1300RPM that produce less than 5kW during S1a stage as reported in this post HSD behaviour during S1a & S1b warming stages | PriusChat