1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2012 Prius 2 or 3 - possible to convert to power seat?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by mrstop, Jun 22, 2012.

1. mrstop

mrstop PWR Mode

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Newbie here. I am nearly settled on buying a new 2012 Prius. Based on feedback about the improved seat comfort on the power seats, it seems like this is a nice option. Unfortunately the power seat is only available on the 4 (Ironically I had to inform the sales person the other day and no other person in the store new :confused:).

The issue is that I am having a hard time justifying the ~ $4K for getting a single driver power seat as I really don't want the other options. I prefer cloth, don't care about the auto headlights, and I would rather put the money in an aftermarket audio than the JBL upgrade.

I would like to buy a 2 or 3 model (maybe for the 3 way SKS) and convert at least the front seat to power. I was thinking the passenger seat may be able to be converted from a Japanese spec as well. I have looked online for parts and diagrams to understand the differences, but it doesn't appear that they are published for 2012 yet.

My question: Does anyone know the specific differences between the power and non-power seats? Is the difference just the power mechanisms, or are the frame, cushions and covers different also? Has anyone priced it out?

2. hyhi

hyhi Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    if someone knows that answer to put those power seats in a 2010 IV would love to know that answer as well :)
    though do answer mrstop question first please and thank you :)

3. mrstop

mrstop PWR Mode

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Sorry about posting to the wrong forum!