2012 Prius v MFD failure/how to replace

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by VFL16, Nov 22, 2021.

  1. VFL16

    VFL16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    The center display in my 2012 Prius v (five trim level) has failed at around 118,000+ miles. I have no bluetooth, radio, nav, apps, or backup camera after the initial Toyota logo startup. If I hold the CAR or SETUP buttons, the display does sometimes change, but only for 2-3 seconds before going black again. Same with the backup camera, although it mostly doesn't work at all. If I hold APPS, I get a "system not installed" message. The receiver ID is 57011.

    After a week of Google, YouTube videos, and forum searching, it seems a bad circuit board is likely and replacing the MFD is the only option (non-dealer, Toyota specialized repair shop gave me a rough $4k quote for a rebuilt one from Toyota). If that's correct, then my only feasible option is buying a replacement from eBay, replacing myself, and hoping it lasts awhile without the same thing happening.

    I have found one video on YouTube relating to how to remove the display in a 2013 v. That's all.

    I suppose my questions are, am I right that the MFD needs completely replaced, or is there a potential fix I should investigate? Has anyone replaced this in a v? The mechanic who quoted me said even if I get a replacement, it has to be programed for that specific car. Can anyone refer me to instructions on this? Any help/previous thread referrals/videos/etc. are greatly appreciated and I apologize if I've missed threads with this information.
     
  2. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,049
    2,123
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Our resident mfd expert @gromittoo is sure to guide you accurately but I would go for the ebay unit or better yet a mfd from a local salvage yard where it would be easier all around. I have not changed one but I know its not too hard.
     
  3. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    1,965
    1,432
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Pretty easy to replace on a Prius v. It's quite easier than on a regular Gen 3. I helped a friend of mine change his and it works just fine.

    I'd either get one that was removed sooner than later after the car was wrecked, since age and exposure to UV would fade the displays.
     
  4. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    597
    203
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    My car is a 2013 v two. I have replaced my MFD twice. The first time was to upgrade from a 57010 to a 57011, so I would have maps. Knowing the name of the street I am driving on is important as an Uber driver, because my phone's GPS is freaking out. That was in 2018.

    This past summer, I replaced the 57011 with an upgraded "Facelift" 510057 unit from 2016 Prius V, to get a much nicer screen on the MFD. I still have the fully functioning 57011, and I would be willing to sell it for $100 plus actual shipping costs. And I have updated the software to 5.2 already.

    The most common failure on the 57011 is the expansion box mounted under the main unit. These Harmon expansion boxes were used in a lot of Toyotas between 2010-2015, and they go bad a lot. Buying a used expansion box is an iffy proposition, as is buying a used 57011 (which might be sold without the expansion box, or missing important cables).

    My 1st recommendation is to update the software on your current 57011. It is easy to do using a blank thumb drive formatted using FAT32. The downloadable updates and instructions can be found by searching Toyota's site. A 2012 will have really old software. The current 5.2.x. This might fix your unit.

    My 2nd recommendation is to take your current 57011 out of the car (Not hard), and disconnect the big fat cable that connects the top part made by Panasonic, to the expansion box made by Harman. If things start working (Will fix Most Bluetooth problems), great, but you will lose all GPS functionality, and anything else associated with the "Apps" button. Many people like this solution.

    It should take 15 minutes to gain access to that connector. You will need a 10mm socket with a 6 inch extender. If the socket is magnetized, you will save yourself the trouble of fishing the bolt if it gets dropped. I tape a rare earth magnet to the extender bar works.

    Step 1) Remove the panel with the Start Button, Park Button, and the shifter. This should be possible using fingers only, and a rocking motion. I have removed this panel dozens of times, and the clips are really sturdy. Re-installation is a matter of lining up the clips, and giving the panel a good whack with the palm of a hand.​

    Step 2) Remove the upper glovebox with the door to the lower glovebox open., This should be possible using fingers only, and a rocking motion. I have removed this glovebox dozens of times, and the clips are really sturdy. Re-installation is a matter of lining up the clips, and giving the glovebox a good whack with the palm of a hand in several places.

    Step 3) Remove the Air Vent assembly. This should be possible using fingers only, and a rocking motion. I have removed this Air Vent assembly dozens of times, and the clips are sturdy BUT NOT AS STURDY as the glovebox or shifter panel. Re-installation is a matter of lining up the clips that go into the shelf between the vent assembly and the instrument cluster. This requires more finesse than with the glovebox or the shifter panel. Once everything is lined up, give the vents a very gentle whack with the palm of a hand.​

    Step 4) the 10mm bolts should now be visible. There is one bolt on each side, and there are two more along the top. The whole MFD should be able to be pulled out at this point.
    My 3rd recommendation is to buy my 57011. Sure you might find a bargain on eBay for $120 with free shipping, but I know mine is complete, and works.

    Some important considerations about buying 57011 on eBay:

    - Since the expansion boxes often go dead, you may be buying a dead expansion box, and you still don't have a working unit.
    - Since the expansion boxes often go dead, you may be buying a 57011 without an expansion box. The Harman 86100-yy050 expansion boxes fit most Toyota MFDs of similar years, so they often get sold off separately if they work.
    - Often, eBay sellers don't include the 86842-yy030 jumper cable. You might be able to re-use your old one, but the fact that it is missing could mean the seller never tested the unit.​
     
    #4 gromittoo, Nov 22, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2021
  5. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    597
    203
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Another thing to try is to reboot the MFD in the hidden utilities menu. Search for a post with my name and a lot of photos. Accessing the menu requires holding down the "setup" button while turning on the parking lights on and off 4 times in about 10 seconds.
     
  6. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,049
    2,123
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    What about this question?

    I would think networking and vin type issues is the focus rather than just updating the Entune apps to v5.2, even though that is easy. My Entune apps are v3.2 without an issue.
     
  7. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    597
    203
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I believe that the 3.2 vs. 5.2 is the Panasonic part of the head unit, and does not have anything to do with Entune. My 57011 came with 3.2, and I recall the upgrade to 5.2 was worthwhile, though I don't recall what the differences were.

    That mechanic is totally confused. I have never needed to "program" a Prius v MFD to get it to work. A simple swap is all you need.

    Toyota used to require some sort of registration process when replacing an MFD unit, to reduce the incentive to steal the MFD. They stopped doing that a long time ago.
     
    #7 gromittoo, Nov 23, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2021
  8. VFL16

    VFL16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    Thank you all. I tried updating the software once again (did it incorrectly the other day). But since I'm getting the "system not installed" message when I press the APPS button, I don't think updating is possible. I've tried several times.

    I did find that hidden utilities menu. You can actually find two different service menus using the parking lights in accessory mode trick by holding a different button each time (one menu by holding SETUP, and another menu by instead holding CAR). However, there doesn't seem to be any sort of reboot option for the MFD in those menus.

    I'm going to dismantle and disconnect that cable in the MFD per your recommendation gromittoo.
     
  9. VFL16

    VFL16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    Fixed. Disconnecting that cable going from the Harman expansion box on the bottom to the Panasonic stereo on top made everything work. Bluetooth, radio, and back-up camera all work properly just like before (which are things I cannot live without). I use my iPhone for navigation anyway, and as a pro musician, being able to listen to tunes and use the phone is a must. Most importantly, it fixed the issue outright without coming out of pocket. Thank you.

    The only minor downside is the bluetooth audio screen looking different and not showing artist information and artwork (which I think is loaded from the expansion box if I'm not mistaken). I will be absolutely fine without it.

    If for some reason in the future I wanted to, how easy is it to replace just the expansion box and is it worth it?
     
  10. VFL16

    VFL16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    He was helpful enough. We didn’t go over any specifics, just rough pricing. I felt like he was probably referring to more common problems older Prius models might have. I love my v, it’s perfect for what I do, but it’s also not the most popular or mainstream model. I bet he hasn’t seen those as often.

    Glad it’s that easy. I had a feeling it wouldn’t be that involved when the only video I could find looked really easy to change out.
     
  11. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,049
    2,123
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Gaining the navigation would be worth it to me. First it is built in and works without a cell signal. The voice control works decent using the proper syntax ["Destination" xyz address or "Favorite" abc]. I save a "Favorite" Home which quickly gets me out of an unfamiliar neighborhood or a confusing downtown area.

    Other than that, the rest of the apps are nearly worthless. If you have traffic issues, its back to the phone. If you are going into a new neighborhood the streets may not be there. To get new maps costs several hundred from a dealer.

    Since Grotimmoo has a known good system for $120 and he saved you $4k, I would send him tonight's tip jar and have built in nav.
     
    #11 rjparker, Nov 23, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2021
    vvillovv likes this.
  12. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    597
    203
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    That message indicates the Panasonic unit cannot communicate with the expansion box. Your expansion box is dead, and probably not fixable. I might be interested in attempting a autopsy on the unit, so I can learn why they fail.

    You are correct that that information is in the expansion box. It is provided by a company called "Gracenote", and there is a separate "Gracenote Database" that can be updated for free, as new artists are added all the time. You might notice that HD radio and your iPhone will display the same artwork for the same artist.

    I would like to suggest that having the GPS / Navigation feature is quite useful because it always displays the correct street name you are on, and the direction you are going. It also shows me what streets nearby are "one way", so that I can compensate for bad directions given to me by my phone. This is very important to me as an Uber Driver.

    Phones apps like Google Maps and Waze are much better at giving you directions to where you want to go, than the rather the Navigation system in the MFD. Mostly this has to do with the awkward way the MFD has you enter addresses. However, those phone apps are handicapped because they rely on "Location Services" in your phone. The "Location Services" in your phone can sometimes be really bad at knowing your current location. Location Services uses cell phone tower data to compute your location. Reflections off tall buildings in a big city causes those apps to constantly recalculate your route, since cell phone signals bounce off buildings.

    I am a firm believer in having the GPS showing for no other reason, than to know that when my phone told me to turn left, that I actually turned left onto the correct road. Using Google Maps and the Uber app for directions, and the Car GPS to know where I really am is the best combination.
     
    #12 gromittoo, Nov 23, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2021
    vvillovv likes this.
  13. gromittoo

    gromittoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    597
    203
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I recently discovered that Poster art for an MP3 cd even shows up. This makes sense because I used "Fairstar" CD ripping software that uses freeDB to get the track information, and FreeDB eventually became Gracenote, but the free version has been kept in place for "Personal use".
     
Loading...