1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2013 Auris hybrid is not going to preview gen. IV technology

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by PriQ, Dec 25, 2012.

1. PriQ

PriQ CT+iQ

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Two
    While I was picking up my new CT I asked the salesman if he could shed some light on this next generation Auris hybrid. The current Auris has the same engine as gen. III Prius. The engine will carry over unchanged when the second generation Auris is released in Europe early in 2013.

Bummer.

I had hoped that we would see some new optimizations in the drivetrain, perhaps hinting at the performance enhancements of the next Prius, but no luck this time.

2. Felt

Felt Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Speaking strictly as a layman, I suspect the current (Prius) drivetrain is close to state-of-the-art optimized for the current size, weight, wind and rolling resistance, and speed expectations coupled with manufacturing cost. I say that because no other manufacturer has been able to better Toyota (except for the pure electric vehicles). The system seems to be in (near-perfect) "balance" where any change, such as adding weight, or designing for a higher top speed, or increased acceleration, would have a "ripple" effect on all of the system components.

Actually, I consider myself fortunate to own such a magnificent machine that performs so economically, is so comfortable, completely reliable and leads all the others in fuel efficiency. Personally, I would not sacrifice any of those attributes to raise the top speed, or lower the 0-60 acceleration; or reduced interior space to accommodate a larger battery. I have driven my G3 completely across the country four times .... traveled 700 miles per day in comfort, and averaging 52 mpg. You cannot do that in a pure electric.