1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2013 Prius Catalytic Converter stolen (SF BAY)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by TomThumb1234, Oct 6, 2022.

1. TomThumb1234

TomThumb1234 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hello,

I had my catalytic converter on my prius 2013 stolen 2 days ago and im in a spot of bother as my car is my sole source of livelihood (I'm an uber driver). It's real tough for me as I live in SF Bay Area. I contacted 1-2 mechanic shops and also went to a local Toyota dealer and I was told there is a backorder. I'm really anxious because I need to get back working.

My insurance adjuster told me it has to be CARB compliant catalytic converter and I really have no clue on where to go. I even thought abt going to Nevada or some place. I can see there are catalytic converter on ebay but they seem pretty cheap (100-200) and I was advised that they cost a fortune (3-4k). I have a deductible of $500 on my insurance.

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    In Calif I'm afraid you're really screwed . At least y'all doing y'all part in the clean air act . Man if you ever come east you will be shocked how many fees disappear. Well maybe not so.much now. No they're mounting up out here for the new generation.sorry man . Best advice is find a Corolla . But with Uber it's gotta be newer.

3. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base