1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2017 Prius (Charging Time)

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Ozmit88, Nov 9, 2020.

1. Ozmit88

Ozmit88 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Hi Newbie here,

Never had a Prius before, I'm gonna buy a basic 2017 Prius (not prime) in Toronto. Simple question
    Just an estimate, how much time or how many miles/km I have to drive to self-charge/regenerative charge Prius battery from 0% to 100% ?

If i drive 50 km (30 miles) on simple highway, will it be enough to charge at 80%
    & same 50 km for city drive, will it be enough to charge at 100% ?

How much time/drive it takes for your Prius to self charge without the plug-In charging ?

I have tried to search for the answer, but can't figure out yet. Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks,

2. alanclarkeau

alanclarkeau Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Impossible to answer - and it's not relevant. The battery only ever goes down to 20-30% and never above 80% - in reality. Those points are regarded as "empty and full".

But with a 50km drive, up and down the various gradients of a Motorway, it could fluctuate from 3 bars to 6 bars and back and forth. The ECU sorts it out - uses battery power when it's the most economical thing to do, turns on the Internal Combustion engine when it's needed. City driving gives more fluctuation - but again depends on the terrain - and again, you don't even think about it - just enjoy only using ~4litres/100km.

That's what a Series/Parallel Hybrid system does well - you don't have to think about it, and it'll average about 30-40% EV Mode - which means that the Engine is doing nothing at those stages - but the battery is looping up and down all that time.